FnFS: Author Appreciation

faith_fiction2(Faith ‘n Fiction Saturdays are hosted by Amy!)

Today’s Challenge
We love to read our books, but sometimes we forget to appreciate the wonderful authors behind them. Authors who write for the Christian marketplace face many challenges with a smaller market and oftentimes the spiritual burden of writing about faith.

So today, I’d like for us to just appreciate our favorite authors. What I’m challenging you to do today is to write a letter of appreciation and encouragement to an author who has written a book that has touched your life or at the very least that you dearly love. Post the letter on your blog. Then, if you are really feeling the love, I suggest you print the letter out and research how to send it via snail mail to your favorite (or beloved) author. If you can’t narrow it down to just one author, then I suggest you write more letters and send them in the mail!

My Letter:

Dear Beth Moore,

While I haven’t read many of your actual books, I have gone through plenty of your Bible study books, and I have to say, they’ve changed my life!

There are a lot of great Christian nonfiction books out there, ones that challenge a person to grow in their faith, and to see things differently. But, your Bible studies are the only ones that have ever actually seen me grow & change.

I will forever be grateful to my church’s ladies’ Bible study group for turning me on to your studies. They love you, so they’ve done more than 5 of your studies together in the last 3 years that I’ve been with them! LOL. We’ve gone through: Living Beyond Yourself, Daniel, Breaking Free, A Woman’s Heart: God’s Dwelling Place, Stepping Up, and Believing God. Most recently, we did a study that you compiled with Kay Arthur and Priscilla Shirer: “Anointed, Transformed, Redeemed“. All of these have been amazing, but my favorite –the one that really spoke to me the most– was Breaking Free.

I have also attended a simulcast that you did based on your book, “Get Out of That Pit“. And, I will never forget it. First of all, because I was so close to God at that point in my life, and that simulcast had something to do with that. And, secondly, because I really and truly felt God’s presence there, and it was the most incredible thing in my life.

I love your passion for God, and your exuberance. I love that you’re funny, too! I find myself in stitches while watching your DVD sessions. 😛 But, you can also be downright serious, and you can send me into tears, as you speak the Truth, and God uses it to bring things to light in my life. Never before have I been so inspired to change who I am, and become more like Christ.

My Grandma — the strongest spiritual example in my life — is, I think, truly grateful for the influence you have had on my spiritual life. I’ve been able to have some really great “Christian” conversations with her, thanks to stuff that you’ve taught in your videos that I have been amazed by (for example: when you’ve shown how things in the OT are actually related to things in the NT — that stuff blows me away!). Before, I used to shy away from conversations like that with my Grandma, as I always thought she was too “deep” for me. Now, though, we can talk about this kind of stuff, and I think she’s pleased that her oldest granddaughter is growing & learning to appreciate the Bible more. 😉

So, thank you, Beth. You’ve been a terrific inspiration, and an exemplary leader. I want SO MUCH to have your kind of faith, and to share it with others like you do! Keep up the great work!

Blessings,

MizB

PS… I absolutely cannot wait until we can do the Esther study! She is my favorite Bible character, and the study looks awesome! 😀

2 thoughts on “FnFS: Author Appreciation

  1. This is wonderful! I feel the exact same way and could’ve written this myself! What a nice tribute for Beth.

  2. Hi there! I love the name of your blog. And, I love the Message Bible and verse you included today. Thanks for sharing. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

