Pursuing Wellness: Week 3, Day 1

pursuingwellness Well, since I don’t have the “Begin With Christ” book, and the preview lesson I was using is now complete, I’ve decided I needed to find another way to continue with a Bible study for this Pursuing Wellness challenge… something related to weight loss, too.

And, aha! I had just the thing! Back in 2005, when I first was learning about the hunger-fullness method, I was using the Thin Within lessons for a Bible study. They ARE a Bible study, really. So, since there are 12 weeks, I thought it’d go really well with this challenge. That is what I’ll be using from now on. 😀

Here are my answers for Day 1:

GOING DEEPER ~ Hope is defined in the dictionary as “desire accompanied by expectation or belief in fulfillment.” Into what kinds of things have you been putting hope?

  • my SELF
  • other diet books
  • foods
  • exercise
  • a miracle

KNOWING GOD BY HEART ~ This week’s focus: LOVE

Look up the word “Love” in the dictionary and write down a definition you believe is consistent with God being love. Read 1 John 4:16 and relate your definition to this Scripture.

LOVE – “…to take pleasure in”

1 John 4:16 ~We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in His love. God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them.”

So… God takes pleasure in us, and we know this because God lives in us, and helps us to love through His strength.

GETTING PRACTICAL ~ Look at…the Hunger Scale. Find your hunger number right now and evaluate whether or not you’re physically hungry. Decide if you are empty, satisfied, beyond satisfied, or somewhere in between. Write down what you discover.

I am currently… satisfied

MEMORY VERSE:

Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.
See I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.

Isaiah 43:18-19

Leave a Reply

