Weary

Sometimes I get so tired of being good. I want to drink until I’m drunk, and dance the way I shouldn’t. I want to go out and have a good time. Honestly? I miss my “party” days… my rebellious-teenager phase. It was so much fun to go out to the bar every weekend, and drink and flirt. It was fun being popular and having my phone ring off the hook…

((sigh))

But, then God gently reminds me…

Do not get tired of doing good.
For at just the right time,
you will reap a harvest of blessing
if you don’t give up
.”
~ Galatians 6:9

And…

Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed
the passions and desires of their sinful nature
to His cross and crucified them there.”
~ Galatians 5:24

Daily. I have to daily lay down this urge that creeps up on me. When I feel really tired of being a “good Christian girl”, I have to remember that it really is worth it, in the long run. These temporary, earthly pleasures are nothing compared to what God’s got in store for me… if only I won’t give up. If only I’ll hold fast to what I believe in.

Leave a Reply

